Tags

,

This book was on my ‘to read’ list for a long time but I never actually borrowed it from the library to read it. Yes, I’d heard it is a great story, but.. about World War II and actually, I have heard so much about that already. It is interesting, of course, but to be honest I’ve never really been a fan of books and movies about the war.

Nonetheless, a couple of weeks ago I came across it in the library and took it with me, and I have to admit that everyone was right: what a great story! It is all written from the perspective of a little, nine year old boy whose father is a high commandant under Hitler. The storyline and angle is entirely different from every other book or movie I read/saw before! It is down to earth, simple, full of simple emotions and understandings of a child which provides an excellent and very interesting book. I don’t want to give away too much already about the storyline, it’s way better to find out yourself!

I finished it within two days and literally spend every spare moment on it! It feels so good to read a book that has that impact on you 🙂 So when I finished it I was extremely curious for the movie. And, as soon as I got over my disappointment of the fact that the spoken language is English instead of German (really, that was such a bummer!) I have to say that the movie is nearly as good as the book. And that’s often not the case with filmed books! The only adjustments made to the story are those that really complement the movie better. So… I’d definitely recommend to read the book first and then watch the movie!

Love, Marle

